Introducing QUANTUM THEORY a graphic guide.

DSC_0036
Original title: Introducing Quatum Theory a graphic guide.

Title of this edition: Introducing Quatum Theory a graphic guide.

Author: J. P. McEvoy & Oscar Zarate.

Gender: Scientific divulgation.

Saga: Introducing Books.

Editorial: Icon Books Ltd.

Edition year: 1, 2013.

Prizes: …

Synopsis [Warning: Spoiler]: This book is a review of the most significant advances that lead to the actual standard version of quantum mechanics. Basically it starts with Plank and Einstein at the beginning of XX century.

DSC_0037

And then develop the atom model following Bohr.And after some problems with the interpretation and some experiments that didn’t fit in the classical point of view…then the three giants appeared and with them 3 theories that happen to be the same.

DSC_0042

The debate was still open and most important, many experiments where made to test the new theory. It passes all of them… and then the non locality appeared. The last of Einstein’s mental experiments, the EPR paradox was unsolved until Bell’s inequality and last particle testing that proved the non locality. Quantum Mechanics IS the theory.

Personal Review: I brought this book one month ago, my first day as a PhD at my new Uni. From time to time I enjoy trying this books just for seeing how they try to teach the new students, and this time I really like it. Specially, it’s irreverent way of dealing with scientists.

DSC_0044

Every time I read this kinds of books I had the feeling that they are only of use to people that already know everything, so I focus on how funny they are, and this book is quite a lot. It’s very rigorous and presents the main experiments and specially the people that made it possible.

One of the things I miss more on my undergraduate courses was Physics history. I think it’s important to us not only know the theory or the experiments, or been good doing lab work, history is also a part of it and the reasons those people had.

The only bad thing about the book is that is a little bit old, there is nothing about Higgs and the standard model of particles and interactions. I mean, it can even be a few years out-of-date, but it didn’t mention Quantum Electrodynamics or Quantum Chromodynamics.

DSC_0043

But even with that small problem is a great book, and obviously, trying to be divulgation cannot go too far into the theories.  Still I feel…

Anyway, it’s a good book, and here is my personal tribute to the book. I like it, and I hope in the future a new one covering everything appears.

DSC_0035

2 thoughts on “Introducing QUANTUM THEORY a graphic guide.”

Leave a Reply

